View Single Post
Old 01-31-2010, 08:47 AM   #8
curlpro

Ok, here we go.
I have attended the Deva Curlaboration, a one day instructional for stylists where you pass for attending and cut a maniquin head. I was chosen after an extensive application process to train with Ouidad over two days on 12 models where Ouidad herself lectures and demonstrated the technique and personally oversees the ten people in the class/interview. Not everyone passes. I am uniquely qualified to explain both methods. I have been a stylist for 20+ years with curls as a focus and my clientele is 90% curly.
The Deva cut is done on dry hair with little or no product and is snipped one curl at a time without ever elevating the hair above 45 degrees (or paralell to the floor, for you lay people) it's a bit like pruning a hedge creating shape from the outside which has to be relatively the same because of the limitations of elevation which determine the amount of layering or shape. There are just certain haircuts you can't do without elevation. In my opinion Deva cuts all look the same.
The difference with the Deva and the Ouidad is this, while Deva is cut from the outside in, the Ouidad is from the inside out.