Hello my Sisters,

I was reading the posts, and I had to add my two cents.

First off...a texturizer IS A relaxer...don't be fooled, don't let anyone tell you otherwise. If it chemically loosens the curl, it is a relaxer. Remember the saying, "walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, it's a duck".

I have very thick, dense, type 4a hair. When it's natural, I have to wet it to comb it.

And just in case anyone is wondering, I am not bi-racial, I am Black. I have a little Native Amer. and Euro waaaaaaaay back, but African is the pre-dominant ancestry ( as is the case with many Afro-Amer. ), so, I am Black.

I was natural for about 11 years. Working as a nurse, I had the freedom to do what I wanted with my hair, I wore braids, twists, afro-puffs, etc.. I had a career transition and got a corporate job, and yes, I succumbed to the pressure of the corp. world and decided to relax my hair.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my natural Black hair, so I didn't want it bone straight, I wanted to maintain some of my coils and curls so I decided to use a texturizer. Besides, I used a bone straight relaxer for most of my life ( my poor Mom had a hard time with my thick, dense, hair, so at age nine, she relaxed it).

The standard bone straight relaxers were terrible, my hair was consistently damaged and breaking. So, texturizers seemed to be the obvious choice.

I trusted the "stylist" with my hair, and allowed her to apply a so-called texturizer that they used in the salon, to my hair. Bad, bad decision. My hair went from scalp to floor.

I decided to try a new salon, AND bring my own kit. I happend upon the aforementioned product and decided to try it. Well, it has been almost three years, and I am very pleased with the results.