I'm finally ready to post my before and afters! I had posted on the wavies board a few months back, but I figured I might as well post it here on the big thread, too.

It's been such a journey through CG -- I didn't know there could possibly be that much to learn about one head of hair! And I'm still learning and experimenting. But, I am so happy I've been working with my natural curl. I started out as a "wavy in denial," brushing my hair and blow drying it straight, wondering why it was so poofy and frizzy. Then I started working with the wave, and I never imagined I had such waves and curls and wurls hiding under my huge, poofy hair! Before CG, my hair was oily and itchy and disgusting all the time from over-stripping my hair with all those sulfates. Now that I'm completely sulfate and 'cone free, I am so much happier with my hair! It finally has a direction -- not just up or out! I started out with full-on CG, and my hair started out OK. I definitely saw results, but just CO-washing was definitely not cutting it. Once I started mod-CG, I was a lot happier. Now, every time I wash my hair I use a sort of low poo. Lately it's been Castile Soap, but soon, I'm hoping to use some gentler, more natural stuff (maybe even make my own shampoo from scratch -- thanks, IAgirl! ). I've learned a couple of really important things from CG -- mostly, though, I've learned that my hair is more moisture-loving than I will ever know. Pre-poos with oil, leave in conditioners, LOTS of heavy RO's, and Spritz and Condishes are absolute musts. It also hates protein (big shock with me having coarse hair, I know, but it took me forever to figure it out despite that!).