You remind me a little of how I used to be, always placing my value in whether or not I had a man by my side. I used to be lonely and envious of those girls with boyfriends, so much so that I dated the first guy who ever asked me out in high school. We should have stayed split up when we broke up right before I graduated HS. Instead, I stayed with him when I left for college. Despite not having much of a relationship with long distance, I still said yes when he proposed. That's what any girl wants, is a boyfriend who loves her and wants to marry her. We dated 3.5 years, were engaged for a year and a half. I almost went through with it too. Why? Because it was familiar, I just wanted to be loved and be in a position to start a family. When I finally came to terms with myself a little more, I realized that while he was a great guy, we weren't right for one another.

I followed that relationship up with a series of what I like to call "what if" flings. There was never a future with any of them, but I just wanted a future so much that I played the "maybe" game with myself. And I kept letting them walk all over me, use me and I always was there whenever it was convenient for them. All because I didn't want to be alone.

But guess what? Selling myself short with "what ifs" left me lonelier than ever. I was so caught up on guys who weren't after anything serious or long term with me, that I wouldn't have opened myself up in a capacity to let anyone truly love me and be worthy of my love.