Well, I was curious about the outcome, but I thought this might be it... Now that you've said you're through with this idea, I'll jump in! Like I said, I love a good experiment, even one that seems like it's been done a thousand times. I applaud you for trying your idea out, even if it ended quickly!

Soaproot and Soapnuts are two plants that foam on their own (they contain compounds called saponins) and create a cleansing goo. Soaproot is found in the western U.S., and was used by Native American groups as a cleaning agent long before Europeans arrived. I work in archaeology in California, and come across soaproot (and whisk-type brushes made from the fibers) everywhere! You might be interested in this article on making shampoo from yucca, which has similar properties.

Soapnuts are something I'm just learning about. My friend Andrea the chemist (her blog has tons of cheap DIY stuff, by the way, so you might like that) introduced me to them, and they are included in her current shampoo bar, this one. You should poke around that whole website, it has a lot of "low ingredient" items that you might find interesting, and they're more affordable than most hair/body products I see in stores. Those $2.70 samples last for over a month, for me.