I did some searching this week at my local shops and didn't find anything like a ponio. I'll probably try and find something online but what about elastic silk bands? Since it's silk I imagine it'd be easier on the hair but because it's elastic I wonder if it would make the silk rougher and if it wouldn't really change anything.

As for the hairband, I wear one at home but it's not really an option I'd be comfortable with at work just yet. I find it hard to feel comfortable with a pony tail even though it's still kind of doable. As an ESL teacher I work with a lot of children as well as co-workers who are just rude and inconsiderate, I get so many "cut your hair" or "you look like a girl" comments. Just yesterday I was doing a demonstration class outside and a parent who's child was my student when I had short hair said somethings about my hair to my co-worker. I understood she at least said I looked more handsome with short hair and she might have said more but then my co-worker immediately started saying she hates me hair and thinks I should cut it.

Firefox, since you use Inecto, do you think it would also work well if I used it as a leave in? Have you tried the shampoo/would you recommend it? Any advice for DIY leave ins?