Ok, some of that makes sense.....kinda. I'm a math teacher, not a science teacher. You're smart, chica!

Yeah I'm not gonna lie- still confused. So coconut oil is another thing I SOOO wanted to love, but it seemed to suck all the curl right out my hair. I did mix coconut oil, honey, Tresemme and a little cinnamon (it's supposed to help bring out natural highlights) for a deep treatment last week which I again slept in. I did a low poo to make sure there was no build up, then put in the mix. That time it WAS wet and in a shower cap all night. Should I not be doing my treatments overnight? It's the only way I have time to let it really sit on my hair... Anyways my hair was awful the next day. Puffy, undefined, lank, rough. I put it up. That's the third time I tried a DT with coconut oil. Man, I must really be doing something wrong here. I've read everything I could get my hands on and thought I was finally starting to understand all the verbage. Apparently not. I certainly appreciate your advice!
Originally Posted by WavyRoo
I do overnight deep treatments but everything I use has at least one penetrating ingredient. There is no point in using standard conditioners that having nothing more that emollients and humectants overnight, they will work within the hour. Hydrolysed proteins and penetrating oils should slowly diffuse into the hair over many hours - they can absorb into the cortex because the molecules are very very small.

Experiment with coconut oil if you have porous hair, the research for penetration is on dry hair which makes sense because it's not water soluble. If I use coconut oil (or similar oils containing lauric acid like palm kernel oil, tucuma butter, babassu oil) I sometimes do it on slightly damp but not wet hair, sometimes do let that partially dry on my hair and partially soak overnight with a shower cap for the heat.