Sorry, this post is kind of long!

I made a batch of FSG a couple of days ago with a few modifications. Like a lot of people, I was getting frustrated with having to keep it in the fridge or having it go sour, so I've been adding Liquid Germall for several months, and I don't feel there is any difference to the quality or performance of the gel. It is odourless, and doesn't seem to be drying. This time, I decided to experiment with castor oil and glycerine, but these can certainly be left out. I added a little bit of xanthan gum to thicken the gel slightly. I've also found a way to avoid the bother of straining the gel by boiling the seeds in a cheap nylon knee-high stocking. I have used this new concoction twice, and both times, it has given me excellent clumping and defined my normally skinny little waves into big, soft, thicker waves that I've been hoping for. My hair is as shiny as it has always been using the more traditional FSG recipe. So far, this new blend is a winner! Hope you all have luck with it, too.

Jude's FSG

1 cup water
1 cup orange flower water or rose water (or total of 2 cups plain water, if preferred)
1/2 cup whole flax seeds (I use brown)
1/2 tsp epsom salts (if extra curl is desired)
1/2 tsp castor oil
1/2 tsp glycerine
1/2 tsp liquid Germall
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
6 drops essential or fragrance oil of your choice (I used Sand & Surf perfume oil from Lathers & Lights)

Place 1/2 cup flax seeds in the toe of a nylon knee-high sock and tie the end tightly. Cut off excess nylon and save for another use. Place water and seed pouch in a plastic bowl or ziploc bag with the 2 cups of water, seal bowl or bag and soak overnight.