Jillipoo, I guess I'm still confused by your questions, and why you feel the COs with fatty alcohols are "empty." I'm all for natural products with fewer chemicals, but my understanding was that those fatty alcohols are good and moisturizing, and that oils alone cannot moisturize your hair -- they can only seal in moisture that's there. Am I getting this wrong still?

I've been using lots of oils and oil-rich COs for about two years now, and while my hair like oils and butters and sucks them up easily, it wasn't responding in any dramatic way. Yes, it had improved a lot from no longer shampooing/using cones, but I didn't see or feel any great benefit from any of the COs I'd used, and I've used a lot of the CG favorites here. Something like AOHR will barely go through my hair and leaves it feeling tangly and rough. Roger Craig CO, which people rave about, did zero for my hair. Activate, B&B Pom Peach, Deva, Jessicurl -- all about the same. No matter what CO I used, my hair always felt dry even in the shower; no CO made it slippery or wet or "seaweedy" feeling, not at all. I couldn't mist it or scrunch in aloe or anything to refresh it because it wouldl just frizz horribly.