Go Back   CurlTalk > Life > The CurlyBook Club

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2009, 10:51 AM   #1
 
Infraredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 331
Default If you like Nora Roberts... (need recs)

Yes, I admit it! I love trashy romance novels! I just finished another Nora Roberts book and was wondering if anyone had recs on other authors? I have also read quite a bit of Jayne Anne Krentz, but everything is getting so dang predictable. I know romance novels follow formulas, but I was looking for an author that wasn't so...formulaic? Hope that makes sense. I have read so many book reviews on Amazon that my head is starting to spin. Any other trashy romance authors that I should know about?
__________________
Mod CG since April of 2007.
Infraredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
 
lisasand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 71
Send a message via Skype™ to lisasand
Default

I have read mostly the Nora Robert's trilogy's...I like books with characters that continue on in some small way in another book. I have enjoyed books by Elizabeth Lowell. Especially the Donavan trilogy starting with "Amber Beach" and the medieval trilogy starting with "Untamed".
__________________
Hair analysis results - medium texture, low porosity and normal elasticity.
Shampoo: Giovanni tea tree triple treat
Conditioner: Giovanni 50:50
Co-wash: Suave naturals waterfall mist or wildcherry blossom
Gel: Loving flax seed gel!
Henna - yemeni henna and indigo from hennasooq
lisasand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:32 AM   #3
 
lisasand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 71
Send a message via Skype™ to lisasand
Default

Oh forgot to include this website that gives you similar books to the ones you like.

http://www.similarauthors.com/
__________________
Hair analysis results - medium texture, low porosity and normal elasticity.
Shampoo: Giovanni tea tree triple treat
Conditioner: Giovanni 50:50
Co-wash: Suave naturals waterfall mist or wildcherry blossom
Gel: Loving flax seed gel!
Henna - yemeni henna and indigo from hennasooq
lisasand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 12:34 PM   #4
 
RebeccaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 273
Default

Infraredhead - If you like Nora Roberts, I think you'll like Susan Wiggs, too. Still predictable but in a slightly different way. =)

Maeve Binchy, while not officially in the "Romance" category, is a nice easy read with the same feel.

I love the trashy books too, but I'm super picky about the story lines. Usually the ones I like best are considered in the "contemporary" sub-category. Looking for books under that category might help you, too!

lisasand - what a great website, I'm so glad I read this thread!

ETA - this is another website that categorizes the books by "Blush Factor". Might also help you find some authors you'd like....

http://www.likesbooks.com/kissburn.html

Last edited by RebeccaK; 07-11-2009 at 12:39 PM. Reason: link
RebeccaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:02 PM   #5
 
Infraredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 331
Default

Thank you Lisasand. Nice link and printing it out right now.

RebeccaK...that website was fantastic. I could not stop laughing at "there may be strong use of euphemistic code words." I have never seen that before and had no idea there was a difference between different Harlequin series.

Off to Amazon I go to shop!
__________________
Mod CG since April of 2007.
Infraredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:41 PM   #6
 
RebeccaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 273
Default

Glad you liked it!

Don't forget to check in at half.com - they often have much better book deals than amazon (if you're buying used, that is)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infraredhead View Post
Thank you Lisasand. Nice link and printing it out right now.

RebeccaK...that website was fantastic. I could not stop laughing at "there may be strong use of euphemistic code words." I have never seen that before and had no idea there was a difference between different Harlequin series.

Off to Amazon I go to shop!
RebeccaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:16 PM   #7
 
BattleWitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 144
Default

What about early Lori Foster? Too Much Temptation is still a comfort read when I need it, as are the Winston Brothers series, which I think was re-released.

And there's no shame in loving romance novels. Trashy or otherwise.
__________________
___________________________________________
Transitioning
HGs:
DB's Daily Leave-In, DB's Natural Coils Curling Jelly, DB's Avocado & Wild Plum Twisting Cream, Curl Junkies Smoothing Condish, CJ's Smoothing Gellie, Qhem Burdock Root Butter Cream, Alma & Olive Heavy Cream, Olive & Honey Hydrating Balm
BattleWitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 02:02 PM   #8
 
Infraredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 331
Default

Adding Lori Foster to my next list. I just came back from Half Price Books with a small sack of trashy romance novels with authors from the links above. I forgot about Half.com! This is almost as bad as being a hair product junky!
__________________
Mod CG since April of 2007.
Infraredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 08:01 PM   #9
 
NoraCurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 343
Default

My mom actually named me after Nora RobertsIt's true because I'm always writing songs, stories, and poems/haikus. When I was 11, I was actually on TV for helping a family raise money by selling my books. They were for kids, though. I don't know why, but I only wrote 1 story since I turned 12. Now, I'm just creating computer wallpapersBoth me and my mom LOVE Nora Roberts. My personal favorite book by her is Once Upon A Rose.
__________________

"Smile...just do it."

3aMii, medium porosity, medium to low elasticity

Shampoo & Conditioner: HE Hydralicious Featherweight
Styling: HETMS Spray Gel and Finishing Touch Cream
DT: GF Triple Nutrition


Last edited by NoraCurl; 07-12-2009 at 08:05 PM.
NoraCurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 08:39 PM   #10
 
automaticflowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,311
Default

You may like Tami Hoag. A lot of her more well-known books are suspense/thrillers, but with an erotic/romance element to them. She has quite a few strictly romance novels as well, though I haven't read them. Here's a link to everything she's written:

http://www.randomhouse.com/bantamdel...ollection.html

The plot, setting, character development, etc. is all pretty important to me, and IMO Hoag delivers on those so it's not just her trying to find 800 different ways to say "penis."
automaticflowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:24 AM   #11
 
angel29ish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 800
Default

Great suggestions! I am in a reading lull right now and am desperate for new reads. I have read all of Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb books...always an enjoyable read. You may want to try the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. They are steamy, sassy, and laugh-out-loud funny. Plus, she has curly hair - lol.
__________________
3B, fine, low/normal porosity
CG - July 2009
CO/RO/Trt.-Suave, BCB, Tigi OH & MM, EO, CJRehab, SG, DF & CF, Jasmine's, Bellacurl, SS, Darcy's, K-Pak, Shescentit, DE Coconut, MD, Oyin, JCWDT, CurlQ
LI-GDLI, Abba PGC, CJRehab, CF,SG & BCLI, Jasmine's, Bellacurl, SS, Shescentit, DE Coconut, MD, Oyin
Styler-FSG, Re:coil, CJCCCC lite & CIAB, Komaza CCP & CS, DB, BRHG, Joiwhip/gel, Ecostyler, Boots, SS, Gel-les'c, DMMCG, KCSS
Too many others to list!
angel29ish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 04:24 AM   #12
 
CurlyHairedFarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,021
Send a message via AIM to CurlyHairedFarmer
Default

Elizabeth Lowell, Heather Graham, Laurie Breton, Mariah Stewart, and Tami Hoag are all good.
__________________
3a with some 2c thrown in
http://public.fotki.com/CurlyHairedFarmer/
pw: cow

Currently Loving:
Shampoo: CJ Gentle Cleansing Shampoo, Giovanni 50:50

Conditioners - CJ Strengthening, CJ Beauticurls Argan and Olive Oil, CJ Smoothing, CJ Rehab, CJ Curl Fix

Leave-in: CJ Beauticurls Leave-in

Deep Conditioner: CJ Hibiscus and Banana Deep Fix

Stylers -CJ Curl Queen, CJ CCCC Lite, CJ CIAB, CJ Pattern Pusha, Paul Mitchell Sculpting Foam, Mop-C Curl Defining Cream, BRHG, KCCC
CurlyHairedFarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:36 AM   #13
 
CafeAuLait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Default

Sandra Brown's are similar to her's. I went through a romance phase several years ago. Actually, I don't consider either author to be romance per se because they're found in the fiction section of the libraries and bookstores I've frequented. I don't know what I'd call them then.. Guess I've just been trained to think of them as straight fiction. Brown's books have more involved plots than Nora Robert's.

I think of romance books as those thin little paperbacks that usually belong to huge series.
CafeAuLait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:46 AM   #14
 
MimsTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,449
Send a message via Yahoo to MimsTX
Default

If you like Nora Roberts (<3) AND Janet Evanovich (double <3) definitely check out Jennifer Cruisie.

Fantastic characters in her stories... and they're a little sarcastic/witty in a way that other romances never seem to quite grasp. I love them to pieces. "Bet Me" and "Faking It" are my favs.

Cecelia Ahern (wrote P.S. I love you) is supposed to be great too but I haven't had a chance to read anything of hers yet :/

If you're sci-fi/fantasy oriented (I love Nora Robert's Morrigan's cross series, for example) Laurel K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series might be good. Vampires, werewolves, romance, etc. Lots of sexual tension, tons of action. Very nice.
__________________
CG/Mod CG (soap bars) since 8/12/08
CO wash/Cond: Kathymack & Flowermoon Castille soap bars, V05 Chamomile Tea, Suave Ocean Breeze, Biolage Conditioning Balm
Styling loves: DIFFUSING! CK, KCNT, KCCC, FOTE (on dry hair only), Re:coil, Proclaim gel
Not sure about: Boots, Tweek, KBB Milk, DMHJ
HATE: plopping, FOTE on wet hair, BRHG
MimsTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:13 PM   #15
 
RacerWife7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 884
Send a message via AIM to RacerWife7 Send a message via Yahoo to RacerWife7
Default

Oooh! I have to check some of these authors out! I'm an avid J.D. Robb / Nora Roberts fan. ...Actually, I'm reading "Indulgence In Death" right now. And before that I read "Happy Ever After" (I LOVE the Brides Quartet and I hope she continues it!).

Thanks for the suggestions!
__________________
Janet ~ Northern NJ
Properties: Dense, Fine, Low Porosity, Low Elasticity
My Picasa Album
What I used in this photo:
Cleansing: Suave Tropical Coconut Condish
Conditioner: CJ Smoothing Condish
Styling: CJCQ
RacerWife7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 04:08 AM   #16
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,314
Default

I don't know Nora Roberts, but if you're looking for trashy romance novels, try Judith McNaught. I have been guilty of reading a few of hers while I am in the right frame of mind

Be prepared for: the Damsel in distress heroine (who is always feisty however, and different from other girls), and dark brooding, misunderstood gigantic men who have tempers but are romantics at heart and are always always amazing in bed (of course).

I mean, if thats you cup of tea
kat180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Trending Topics[-]hide

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 NaturallyCurly.com