CurlTalk

CurlTalk (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/)
-   General Discussion about Curly Hair (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/general-discussion-about-curly-hair/)
-   -   appreciate any quick opinions (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/general-discussion-about-curly-hair/158109-appreciate-any-quick-opinions.html)

mamaherrera 05-08-2013 11:46 PM

appreciate any quick opinions
 
OK I have had scalp issues for a while, nothing new, but a newfound observation, and could use some opinions. I saw again lately, some flakes and had itching, so I did a sulfate wash, then the next day I did a Tgel with coal, extra strength stuff, putting conditioner on ends. After it dried, go figure, my head is full of that white stuff in my scalp. It's stuck to my scalp, but I just scratch a bit, and it starts coming up to the hair. Makes me think I have more white hairs than I do. So does this mean it's not dandruff, or does Tgel take a few uses for it to work or what's the deal. I could use some opinions. No itching, eh, but lots of crap in my hair! And I wouldn't think it would be build up, if I just did a sulfate wash, so now I'm more confused.

Firefox7275 05-09-2013 04:03 AM

Dandruff is a layman's term encompassing a number of dermatological conditions, which have you been diagnosed with? Self treating based on a self diagnosis can easily worsen problems by further damaging the skin barrier or increasing irritation.

There are a couple of types of T-Gel effective in mild seborrhoeic dermatitis and mild psoriasis respectively, sulphate surfactants are likely to worsen atopic eczema, irritant contact dermatitis and allergic contact dermatitis, also possibly SD.

chloe92us 05-09-2013 05:10 AM

Dandruff and dry scalp are completely different things. If the flakes are white it's probably dry scalp. If the flakes are more yellow its probably dandruff. If you have dry scalp, using a dandruff shampoo will just make it worse. Are you sure it's dandruff?

mamaherrera 05-09-2013 09:42 AM

Isn't SD dandruff?? Also, no I"m not sure, that's why I"m asking for opinions! My daughter says they're mostly white flakes, some yellow, so there's a bit more info on that one. But yeah, I give up. I go to the dermatologists, like I've gone to three and they're say it looks clean (my scalp) so they're no help. See my scalp looks clean, until you scratch or rub or comb it, and then that's when the hail storm comes up!! So do you all think more dry scalp??? I notice, though, when I don't wash three days, my hair looks oily and I tend to have more of this stuff, so that's why I thought dandruff.

awelcome 05-09-2013 10:19 AM

I don't know if this will help, but I used to get white flakes up towards the front of my hair in my bangs. It was when I stopped using sulfate shampoos that it went away actually. I switched to the organix moroccan argan oil line. I am trying other things now that I am learning more about CG method, but I haven't seen any flakes since I left behind my old shampoos. I did use T-Gel at one point and selsun blue trying to rid my head of those flakes and never saw any improvement with them.

awelcome 05-09-2013 10:22 AM

also, for me when I wasn't doing my hair curly I would wash it every other day most of the time, and now I tend to wash MORE often because I can't get 2nd day hair very often. Maybe there is something with that.

mamaherrera 05-09-2013 10:24 AM

so you think more frequent washing has helped you??? Also, do you use lowpoos every time you wash now or cowashes?? I can't cowash, but I guess being frequent with lowpoos might be my best answer.

mamaherrera 05-09-2013 10:28 AM

thanks

awelcome 05-09-2013 10:30 AM

I didn't even know about CG until very recently, so for the last few months I guess you could say I was mod-cg by suggestions and watching youtube on how to care for curly hair. I got rid of sulfates, but not cones or anything which I am looking into now. I was using the Organix Moroccan Argan oil line exclusively and washing pretty much every day. I was also using a biolage leave in sealing cream and a little penetrating argain oil from that organix line. I don't know which of those things fixed the issue but it's gone.

mamaherrera 05-09-2013 10:33 AM

does that organix line have sulfatse?? I thought it did, or maybe it has cones! BUt maybe just washing daily is what I need, with shampoo. I tried one day lowpoo, one day water, and that didn't improve the situation. But then I went a couple days and man did I feel oilly/itchy

Firefox7275 05-09-2013 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mamaherrera (Post 2168535)
Isn't SD dandruff?? Also, no I"m not sure, that's why I"m asking for opinions! My daughter says they're mostly white flakes, some yellow, so there's a bit more info on that one. But yeah, I give up. I go to the dermatologists, like I've gone to three and they're say it looks clean (my scalp) so they're no help. See my scalp looks clean, until you scratch or rub or comb it, and then that's when the hail storm comes up!! So do you all think more dry scalp??? I notice, though, when I don't wash three days, my hair looks oily and I tend to have more of this stuff, so that's why I thought dandruff.

Dandruff is a colloquialism it's not a medical term. Many people use it when they have not received a diagnosis, so no it is not synonymous with SD. Simple dry scalp = xerosis, that is not the most common cause of a flaky scalp by any means SD is. You can do more harm that good by treating for SD if you actually have irritant or allergic contact dermatitis.

Are you seeing the dermatologists with freshly washed hair or three days hair? Have they taken a scrape and stuck it under the microscope? Have you combed your scalp in front of the derm? Any family doctor should be able to diagnose the most common scalp disorders, they certainly do here in the UK. NC cannot/ should not amateur diagnose something three derms have failed to. Be aware that it is fairly common for two dermatological conditions to co-exist, sometimes on the same part of the body.

The one thing that can help all of the possible conditions you might be suffering with is diet and lifestyle modification. Overhaul your diet so it is anti inflammatory and nutrient dense, particularly look at your intake of oily fish and sugar/ white refined carbs. Balanced nutrition strengthens the skin barrier, calms any inappropriate immune response, reduces systemic inflammation, alters the amount and composition of your sebum.

If there is any chance it is SD be very careful what oils you are using on your hair - oleic acid is a total no no, you are best off without the saturated fatty acids like stearic and palmitic too. For several of the other possible conditions sulphate free can be beneficial because sulphates damage the skin barrier at concentrations as low as 1% (shampoo is ~20%). Ditto any products with an alkaline pH, skin's happy place is pH ~5.5, hair ~4.5.

awelcome 05-09-2013 11:06 AM

yes I believe it's sulfate free, but not cone free.

Was also just thinking.. considering the timing it's possible that at least part of the solution was the warming of the weather. Perhaps my scalp is dryer in the winter.

mamaherrera 05-09-2013 11:09 AM

Thanks, and I really think no one is trying to diagnose, I'm just asking for other people's experiences and what has worked for them. Perhaps, I find someone that sounds just like my experience, and that might help me out. More so than these docs, they don't take it on themselves to scratch the scalp or even really get into the scalp. Like they're scared to touch my hair or something. Also, lots of people say that you need a salon-quality shampoo, not sure if it's true, but they say because they're PH balanced. How can we find natural, no sulfate poos that are pH balanced??? Anyone have a lowpoo that they know is pH balanced?

Firefox7275 05-09-2013 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mamaherrera (Post 2168599)
Thanks, and I really think no one is trying to diagnose, I'm just asking for other people's experiences and what has worked for them. Perhaps, I find someone that sounds just like my experience, and that might help me out. More so than these docs, they don't take it on themselves to scratch the scalp or even really get into the scalp. Like they're scared to touch my hair or something. Also, lots of people say that you need a salon-quality shampoo, not sure if it's true, but they say because they're PH balanced. How can we find natural, no sulfate poos that are pH balanced??? Anyone have a lowpoo that they know is pH balanced?

What worked for them is based on them correctly identifying and treating the scalp condition they have, to me as a healthcare professional you are effectively seeking an amateur diagnosis even if you don't mean to be. Sounding like your experience really is not the way to get a proper diagnosis, all the conditions I have mentioned have very similar presentations. I'm not trying to be a nasty person, I am really concerned that you don't worsen your condition. Being blunt you have already had several failed attempts at 'curing' yourself.

I'm sorry you are getting such poor service from the consultants you have seen, can't you just ask for what you want since you are a paying customer? I'm in the UK so I don't really understand your healthcare system, but even with our free NHS I'd be very vocal about exactly what I want and expect if I'd had three failed attempts at getting a diagnosis. The other solution is to consult an excellent pharmacist, they can't formally diagnose but they can examine you, do have degree level qualifications in a subject allied to medicine, will have seen all the most common scalp disorders many times and will, of course, be au fait with all the latest treatments.

pH balanced means different things to different people: often cosmetics companies use it to mean neutral or pH 7 which is absolutely not what you need to protect your skin's acid mantle when you have a damaged skin barrier. I have no idea why anyone is telling you that you need a salon quality shampoo because actually they are just as likely to have additives that you should avoid IF you have an inflammatory, allergenic or irritant condition and can be a more concentrated form of the foaming surfactants. What medical qualifications do these people have that you are consulting?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 NaturallyCurly.com