CurlTalk

CurlTalk (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/)
-   General Discussion about Curly Hair (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/general-discussion-about-curly-hair/)
-   -   Opinions on Shea Moisture Curling Soufflé? (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/general-discussion-about-curly-hair/160011-opinions-shea-moisture-curling-souffl%E9.html)

anissafersure 07-01-2013 01:38 PM

Opinions on Shea Moisture Curling Soufflé?
 
Like the product junkie I am, I've been curious about trying this. What are your opinions on it?

WavyRoo 07-01-2013 02:40 PM

I have mixed feelings....

I just tried it about three weeks ago and was in hair heaven. I felt I had FINALLY found my HG! My waves were more like ringlets and were very uniform which is a big deal for me! I got results air drying that I usually have to diffuse to get. The texture is very runny which makes application tricky, but after two or three uses I was very pleased. It even gave me second day hair.
Alas, like everything else I've tried, it didn't last:(. Now it seems to tangle my hair and feels very producty. It dries more almost more gummy than crunchy, so I had a very hard time when I tried to SOTC. It also made my hair stringy- I couldn't get any clumps.
But I'm not giving up because it was so great initially- I may just not be applying it correctly. I say give it a shot, but I am a PJ and try everything! :) I was thrilled to see it at Walmart last week, and it's readily available at Target, so you can always return it if you don't like it. Good luck!

Samanthascurlz 07-01-2013 02:45 PM

I really like the soufflé. I use it most of the time. I found the results of my hair were very similar when I used KCCC. Even though, KCCC has different ingredients, the jelly consistency was similar. AND the souffle is cheaper...which is very important lol.

anissafersure 07-01-2013 02:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WavyRoo (Post 2186416)
I have mixed feelings....

I just tried it about three weeks ago and was in hair heaven. I felt I had FINALLY found my HG! My waves were more like ringlets and were very uniform which is a big deal for me! I got results air drying that I usually have to diffuse to get. The texture is very runny which makes application tricky, but after two or three uses I was very pleased. It even gave me second day hair.
Alas, like everything else I've tried, it didn't last:(. Now it seems to tangle my hair and feels very producty. It dries more almost more gummy than crunchy, so I had a very hard time when I tried to SOTC. It also made my hair stringy- I couldn't get any clumps.
But I'm not giving up because it was so great initially- I may just not be applying it correctly. I say give it a shot, but I am a PJ and try everything! :) I was thrilled to see it at Walmart last week, and it's readily available at Target, so you can always return it if you don't like it. Good luck!

That's what I was afraid would happen! There aren't that many reviews on YouTube about it, but it seemed like a lot of people were complaining about the stickiness/greasiness of it. I adore the curl enhancing smoothie & style milk, so I think I might give this a shot. Thank you! (:

anissafersure 07-01-2013 02:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Samanthascurlz (Post 2186419)
I really like the soufflé. I use it most of the time. I found the results of my hair were very similar when I used KCCC. Even though, KCCC has different ingredients, the jelly consistency was similar. AND the souffle is cheaper...which is very important lol.

Do you use it paired with the curl enhancing smoothie? Or just by itself? and yeah, the KCCC is extremely overpriced in my opinion.

Samanthascurlz 07-01-2013 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anissafersure (Post 2186422)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Samanthascurlz (Post 2186419)
I really like the soufflé. I use it most of the time. I found the results of my hair were very similar when I used KCCC. Even though, KCCC has different ingredients, the jelly consistency was similar. AND the souffle is cheaper...which is very important lol.

Do you use it paired with the curl enhancing smoothie? Or just by itself? and yeah, the KCCC is extremely overpriced in my opinion.

I have the smoothie but I don't use it in conjunction with it because both contain a lot of humectants so too much can cause me frizz! I am still trying to learn the whole moisture/protein balance lol.

As far as KCCC goes, I do like it but, I won't buy again bc of the price. However, I can say a little goes a long way meaning it lasts you a good while so then it kind of makes the price worth it, but not? lol I can't seem to make my mind up! lol

WavyRoo 07-01-2013 03:29 PM

Like KCCC, I think it's all about using the right amount and applying it properly. I have a hard time applying KCCC evenly, too. When I get it right, it's amazing! But when I don't, disaster:/. The two are very similar, but the Soufflé is way runnier. I also have the Smoothie but when I tried to use them both, my hair was messy and producty. I like the Smoothie as a second day hair refresher and frizz eliminator.

Samanthascurlz 07-01-2013 03:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WavyRoo (Post 2186446)
Like KCCC, I think it's all about using the right amount and applying it properly. I have a hard time applying KCCC evenly, too. When I get it right, it's amazing! But when I don't, disaster:/. The two are very similar, but the Soufflé is way runnier. I also have the Smoothie but when I tried to use them both, my hair was messy and producty. I like the Smoothie as a second day hair refresher and frizz eliminator.

Yes, that is a perfect description, the soufflé is more runnier. Sorry, I didn't mean to start bringing up KCCC LOL. I just can't help but compare even though the ingredients are different.

anissafersure 07-01-2013 04:44 PM

Currently, I use the Krystal Eco Styler Gel over my smoothie. I love how it gives me the hold/definition I want without making my hair feel or look producty. So if the soufflé has that effect when mixed with the smoothie that might be a no go for me.

turquoisecurls 07-01-2013 07:12 PM

I love the souffle! But less is more. I have bra strap length hair, when my hair is soaking wet I dip three fingers into the jar ( no scooping) just dip and smooth and scrunch it into my hair. I have never used it on its own I always follow up with gel. If clumping is an issue try to brush it into very wet hair and then scrunch, my tangle teezer works well for that. My hair is never greasy , just shiny and moisturized
ETA. My first jar lasted 6 months using it daily

Jas76 07-02-2013 07:13 PM

I, too, like the soufflé! But both that and the smoothie, as mentioned above, LESS IS MORE! Even if your hair eats product like mine does, and even if its long and thick, you'll use a LOT less than you think.

I mix mine with another gel, or top it with another gel, bc it's not nearly enough hold for me.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 NaturallyCurly.com