Go Back   CurlTalk > Life > Non-hair discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2007, 09:13 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13,292
Default Q for the vegetarians

I know there are different categories of vegetarians, but I forget them all & what each one will not eat.

Does the practice also apply to what's worn, or am I thinking of animal-rights activists?

I ask this b/c I was told/read recently that fabric softener is made with beef tallow & though I'm a meat eater, I was a bit disgusted. Yet I continue to use it because of the very static-charged air in oohtah & vinegar didn't seem to help w/ such (it's supposedly a natural fabric softener).

I hope I didn't offend anyone w/ my curious post.

ETA: I also didn't know its parts are used in a myriad of other things. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the article for a list.

http://www.discover.com/issues/aug-01/features/featcow/
lazy loops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 09:53 AM   #2
 
x_tigerlily's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 830
Default

There are vegans, who are vegetarians who also don't eat eggs or dairy. They also do not use any other products that are derived from animals or tested on animals (clothes, body products, hair product, etc).
__________________
3C/4A and too long to handle (and afford!)
x_tigerlily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 10:20 AM   #3
 
Springcurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 13,665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x_tigerlily
There are vegans, who are vegetarians who also don't eat eggs or dairy. They also do not use any other products that are derived from animals or tested on animals (clothes, body products, hair product, etc).
You got it.

That said, I'm a vegetarian and I won't use soap that has beef tallow.

My daughter is a vegan and she will not wear leather.

Some vegans don't eat honey, either, because beekeepers clip the wings of the queens.
__________________


Obamacare is not a blueprint for socialism. You're thinking of the New Testament. ~~ John Fugelsang



Springcurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 10:40 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Springcurl
Some vegans don't eat honey, either, because beekeepers clip the wings of the queens.
I did not know this.
lazy loops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 10:54 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 864
Default

I'm a vegetarian. Some other levels of vegetarianism are Lacto-ovo vegetarians, ovo-vegetarians, and lacto-vegetarians. I am a lacto-ovo vegetarian, and we eat dairy and eggs. Ovo-vegetarians eat egg products, but no dairy, and lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products, but no eggs. There are also the vegans, which Tigerlily explained above nicely.
__________________
3c
curlicious3b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:04 AM   #6
 
Eilonwy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12,143
Default

Some vegetarians will eat seafood. Think of the Catholic definition of meat.
Eilonwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:13 AM   #7
 
redcelticcurls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 14,014
Send a message via Yahoo to redcelticcurls
Default

Another question along those lines. For you vegans and vegetarians out there, will you still eat a product if it shares equipment with milk, meat, fish, etc.

I aks because some folks at Trader Joe's were looking for vegan desserts. The cat cookies and Joe-Joe's are vegan, but the equipment is shared with meat and/or dairy products. I wasn't sure how the average vegetarian/vegan felt about it. The lady that I helped was fine with it, but I'm not sure of the general consensus.
__________________
Kiva! Microfinance works.

Med/Coarse, porous curly.
redcelticcurls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:53 AM   #8
 
mailgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eilonwy
Some vegetarians will eat seafood. Think of the Catholic definition of meat.
look up the definition of vegetarian...vegetarians do not eat fish. Just trying to enlighten not start a debate.
__________________
3a/3b/3c/36D


May the hair gods shine on me (and you!).

My silly veggie blog: vegefattien
mailgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:57 AM   #9
 
Befrizzled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4,829
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailgirl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eilonwy
Some vegetarians will eat seafood. Think of the Catholic definition of meat.
look up the definition of vegetarian...vegetarians do not eat fish. Just trying to enlighten not start a debate.
Yeah, I'm pretty sure the fish eaters are called pescatarians.
__________________
Under construction.
Befrizzled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:58 AM   #10
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailgirl

look up the definition of vegetarian...vegetarians do not eat fish. Just trying to enlighten not start a debate.
This is true. if you eat seafood, then you aren't really a vegetarian. I don't get why people ask me if I eat seafood after I tell them I'm a vegetarian.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Befrizzled

Yeah, I'm pretty sure the fish eaters are called pescatarians.
That is correct.
__________________
3c
curlicious3b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:10 PM   #11
 
Springcurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 13,665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eilonwy
Some vegetarians will eat seafood. Think of the Catholic definition of meat.
Not to be picky... and not to pick on you at all, but it annoys me to no end when people say, "I'm a vegetarian but I eat fish."

If you eat fish, you are not a vegetarian.
__________________


Obamacare is not a blueprint for socialism. You're thinking of the New Testament. ~~ John Fugelsang



Springcurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:13 PM   #12
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13,292
Default

I'm just still a little shocked & feeling a little "ewww" about what all is made from cattle parts. :|
lazy loops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:40 PM   #13
 
Poodlehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,278
Default

I have a good friend who is vegan, and she wears leather. She is not vegan because of a moral standpoint, though. She is vegan because it makes her feel healthier.
__________________
Minneapolis, MN
Poodlehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:50 PM   #14
 
redcelticcurls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 14,014
Send a message via Yahoo to redcelticcurls
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailgirl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eilonwy
Some vegetarians will eat seafood. Think of the Catholic definition of meat.
look up the definition of vegetarian...vegetarians do not eat fish. Just trying to enlighten not start a debate.
I think some of it comes from Lent confusion. I know some Catholics who say that they don't eat meat on Fridays in Lent - just fish. I can understand the concept of approved and unapproved meats. But, hearing some Catholics claim that fish isn't meat at all because they believe the Church says so is odd for me. Fish isn't a vegetable.

There is an online term for pescovegetarian though.

http://www.biology-online.org/dictio...escovegetarian

A vegetarian who consumes dairy products, eggs, and fish, but does not consume other animal flesh.

Retrieved from "http://www.biology-online.org/dictionary/Pescovegetarian"
__________________
Kiva! Microfinance works.

Med/Coarse, porous curly.
redcelticcurls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 01:33 PM   #15
 
x_tigerlily's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redcelticcurls
Another question along those lines. For you vegans and vegetarians out there, will you still eat a product if it shares equipment with milk, meat, fish, etc.

I aks because some folks at Trader Joe's were looking for vegan desserts. The cat cookies and Joe-Joe's are vegan, but the equipment is shared with meat and/or dairy products. I wasn't sure how the average vegetarian/vegan felt about it. The lady that I helped was fine with it, but I'm not sure of the general consensus.
Some people would feel iffy but a lot don't. Really, it's not about purity, like who can be 100% animal-free. It's about being realistic and doing the best you can do.

I'm vegan by the way.
__________________
3C/4A and too long to handle (and afford!)
x_tigerlily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 01:39 PM   #16
 
Poodlehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redcelticcurls
Another question along those lines. For you vegans and vegetarians out there, will you still eat a product if it shares equipment with milk, meat, fish, etc.

I aks because some folks at Trader Joe's were looking for vegan desserts. The cat cookies and Joe-Joe's are vegan, but the equipment is shared with meat and/or dairy products. I wasn't sure how the average vegetarian/vegan felt about it. The lady that I helped was fine with it, but I'm not sure of the general consensus.
I think that would affect the kosher aspect, which maybe was their concern? I know some people use the Parve or K symbol to determine if a food is vegan.
__________________
Minneapolis, MN
Poodlehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 01:43 PM   #17
 
redcelticcurls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 14,014
Send a message via Yahoo to redcelticcurls
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poodlehead
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcelticcurls
Another question along those lines. For you vegans and vegetarians out there, will you still eat a product if it shares equipment with milk, meat, fish, etc.

I aks because some folks at Trader Joe's were looking for vegan desserts. The cat cookies and Joe-Joe's are vegan, but the equipment is shared with meat and/or dairy products. I wasn't sure how the average vegetarian/vegan felt about it. The lady that I helped was fine with it, but I'm not sure of the general consensus.
I think that would affect the kosher aspect, which maybe was their concern? I know some people use the Parve or K symbol to determine if a food is vegan.
I can see how the Kosher would come into issue. I remember the woman bought the cat cookies bacause they were both kosher and vegan IIRC. It seems that she was going to a birthday party where the 5 year old kid is a kosher vegan. It can make it harder to find some things I guess.
__________________
Kiva! Microfinance works.

Med/Coarse, porous curly.
redcelticcurls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 01:44 PM   #18
 
Eilonwy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redcelticcurls
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailgirl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eilonwy
Some vegetarians will eat seafood. Think of the Catholic definition of meat.
look up the definition of vegetarian...vegetarians do not eat fish. Just trying to enlighten not start a debate.
I think some of it comes from Lent confusion. I know some Catholics who say that they don't eat meat on Fridays in Lent - just fish. I can understand the concept of approved and unapproved meats. But, hearing some Catholics claim that fish isn't meat at all because they believe the Church says so is odd for me. Fish isn't a vegetable.
What I meant is that 1) Many people claim to be vegetarians, but eat fish. Since there is no governing body for vegetarians, and there are so many kinds of vegetarians, I guess they can call themselves fish-eating vegetarians. And 2) In many cultures, fish are traditionally considered fundamentally different from beasts and fowl. This is still retained in Catholic teaching, and is perhaps reflected in these vegetarians.

PS: I tend to think in itemized lists. I hope that didn't come out as angry or anything.
Eilonwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 03:13 PM   #19
 
Amneris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eilonwy
Some vegetarians will eat seafood. Think of the Catholic definition of meat.
Those are pescatarians.... and re: the Catholic thing - Catholics are not allowed to eat the flesh of land animals on fast days such as Fridays during Lent, but we can eat fish instead. The Church doesn't say that that makes people vegetarians or that fish is a vegetable - it is just abstaining from something that most people enjoy (red & white meat) on certain important days. Most people who keep this practise eat all kinds of meat on every other day of the week, and don't consider themself any kind of vegetarian. Not eating "meat" is a spiritual discipline, not a dietary preference. Some Catholics don't eat "meat" on Christmas Eve out of respect for the animals in the stable when Jesus was born, and since there were no fish there, they'll eat seafood. Catholic vegetarians, such as myself, have to give up something else on Fridays and be creative in our spiritual denial.

One of the big historical reasons why the Church promoted fish Fridays was to bolster the Portuguese fisheries when they were having hard times. Nowadays one of the reasons given is to help us Catholics be set apart from others and have a tangible reminder of our faith, and to make sacrifices that mirror the ultimate sacrifice Christ made for us.

Many of the people who claim to be fish-eating vegetarians aren't Catholic and don't know anything about Catholic teaching, so I don't think that that is the reason they have those beliefs.
__________________
Get used to me. Black, confident, cocky; my name, not yours; my religion, not yours; my goals, my own; get used to me. -Muhammad Ali











Amneris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 03:19 PM   #20
 
CurlyCanadian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 13,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poodlehead
I have a good friend who is vegan, and she wears leather. She is not vegan because of a moral standpoint, though. She is vegan because it makes her feel healthier.
I'm the same. A vegetarian, but still wear leather. I still eat jello, and chew gum, and probably ingest a million other products that have some sort of animal in them. I'm just not going to sit down to dinner and have actual meat.
__________________
I believe in manicures. I believe in overdressing. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.
Audrey Hepburn
CurlyCanadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 NaturallyCurly.com