facial cleanser

Like Tree12Likes

So I'm really new to skin care and all this. I've never used a facial cleanser or any face product other than make up and Queen Helene exfoliating scrub which I might break out a couple times a year. Oh yeah, I dealt with cystic acne in college for a while (the occasional lone volcano on my face every three or four months) so I had to get a rx for a topical but other than that, I have never used anything on my face. I just wash my face with the same soap I use to wash...my ass

So I just bought an Olay Pro X cleansing brush and I don't have anything to use on it. I'm 41 and my face is starting to drop a little but I don't have wrinkles. Oily T zone, normal elsewhere. The occasional pimple but no acne "problems."

I don't care if it is natural or not or where I have to buy it. It doesn't have to be supermarket-cheap. I just think I'm supposed to be doing something w/ my skin now, right?

(xposted on skincare)
3b (with 3c tendencies) on modified CG

"supposed to?" everyone' skin is different, genetics, lifestyle.

i use bliss steep clean mask once a week to prevent an occasional breakout, reduce pores, exfoliate dull skin. (i get it with coupons on bliss world.com, and usually buy the double pack, so it's not nearly as much as regular price.)

i have both dry hair and dry skin, think i was born this way. never had oily skin. i wash with cetaphil bar (prefer the liquid but my wallet doesn't). been using some type of moisturizer since i was in high school, started with noxezma, then on to deep magic -- a drugstore brand that i can't even imagine did anything -- and have now progressed to ester lauder revitalizing face creme. again, i look for sales on this and buy the economy size.
i just found a fabulous eye cream (also dry eyelids!!!) shiseido benefiance 24 hr wrinkle resist that is super great. again, i am on the internet searching for whatever store is having a sale/rewards.