forever young backlash

Begin rant:

Does anyone see this coming? I mean a backlash against the botoxed, facelifted, whatever it takes to "look young" mentality. I feel more repulsed by it everyday. And yet, I still feel tweaked when I see someone my age who looks fantastic "for her age".

I think the numerous ads (some of them fairly large) and articles on Botox, Restalyn etc, in the dressing room of my health club pushed me over the edge. I've been walking by them for a few months now never failing to feel a twinge of regret. At the same time, I'm letting go of the idea of wanting to look young for my age. I don't envy the admiring glances my teenage daughters get.

I'm not so virtuous as to think I wouldn't have had some work done, if I had aged very poorly. I think that's a different issue. And I'm not criticizing anyone for her choices.

Does anyone think it will be easier for our daughters, nieces, young friends?
cg Dec 08
fine to med texture w/ some coarse / high porosity 2c to 3a

Last edited by meadowlark2; 03-03-2009 at 06:10 PM. Reason: spelling
Speckla
I don't think younger girls will have it easier as they age because teenagers and 20-somethings are getting botox and other work *before* they even have wrinkles or age-signs.
I wonder if those ads are in the men's dressing room at your health club?
My blog - http://suburbanbushbabe.wordpress.com/
My FOTKI - http://whatsnew.fotki.com/suburbanbushbabe/

Playing with my hair is a hobby. Fluffy, fine natural 4a. Goal= Healthy, beautiful hair that retains its length.
Hear that crash? It's me falling off the CG wagon.
I believe that it is a personal decision and I don't judge people who choose to have some work done .. but ... I don't see the appeal in having someone look at you and have it be that obvious .... your lips are turned up and are unnaturally full ... your upper lip doesn't move and you're face is basically expressionless ... ????