Darcy’s Botanicals New Curl Cream Gel and Styling Cream

For those who have already tested the Darcy’s Botanicals New Curl Styling Cream or Curl Cream Gel, could you please share your experience with those products?
I don’t find a lot of review about those products so wanted to know if it could be suitable for my hair type.

Thanks
3B-A, colored, med texture-density, High porosity

DT: AOHRS - CJHBDF - Mixed Chicks
Loo-Poo 2/week: Eluence volume,YTT-YTC poo, Co-wash 2/week: Suave Tropical - V05 Strawberries (water wash the rest)
Conditioner: Mop Top, Toe Shea, AOHRS, AOGBP
Leave-in:KCKT , Darcy Peach Kernel, Aloeba,YTT/YTC co,Christine Grant LI
Stylers: KCCC, CJ CCC, DMMC, Mixed Chiks, BB Jellie Creme, HESMU, Mop Top gel, HPO curling pudding

Fotki:http://public.fotki.com/zenalla1/ (updated in June 2010)
PW: mixedcurly
I've tried the Curl Cream Gel a couple of times. It doesn't have a very strong hold, but it worked fine. My hair was soft and curled pretty nicely. I don't know that I would repurchase, but I will use it occasionally.

Kerri

2?/3a ??? ; fine; high density; normal porosity and elasticity
color treated

CURRENTLY USING:
cleanse:Organix Vanilla Silk, Use Me Cleansing Cream
rinse out/li:Ion Effective Care, Tresseme Naturals Radiant Volume (both with NPF added)
stylers:Curl Keeper, UFD Curly Magic, & Alba Botanicals Strong Hold Gel
PT:CJ Repair Me

mod CG since August 2010
Thanks for your answer Curlyserf.
What about the volume? I've read (from someone that who use it on dry that) that it give some volume.
Did you experiment that either?
3B-A, colored, med texture-density, High porosity

DT: AOHRS - CJHBDF - Mixed Chicks
Loo-Poo 2/week: Eluence volume,YTT-YTC poo, Co-wash 2/week: Suave Tropical - V05 Strawberries (water wash the rest)
Conditioner: Mop Top, Toe Shea, AOHRS, AOGBP
Leave-in:KCKT , Darcy Peach Kernel, Aloeba,YTT/YTC co,Christine Grant LI
Stylers: KCCC, CJ CCC, DMMC, Mixed Chiks, BB Jellie Creme, HESMU, Mop Top gel, HPO curling pudding

Fotki:http://public.fotki.com/zenalla1/ (updated in June 2010)
PW: mixedcurly
Thanks for your answer Curlyserf.
What about the volume? I've read (from someone that who use it on dry that) that it give some volume.
Did you experiment that either?
Originally Posted by zenalla
Didn't try it on dry hair. I think it did give me decent volume when I used it on wet hair.

Kerri

2?/3a ??? ; fine; high density; normal porosity and elasticity
color treated

CURRENTLY USING:
cleanse:Organix Vanilla Silk, Use Me Cleansing Cream
rinse out/li:Ion Effective Care, Tresseme Naturals Radiant Volume (both with NPF added)
stylers:Curl Keeper, UFD Curly Magic, & Alba Botanicals Strong Hold Gel
PT:CJ Repair Me

mod CG since August 2010
I have both, and I'm still experimenting with both. The gel can't be used in large amount for myself, or in large amounts ALONE (how I used it), because it left my hair dry and stringy. But other that that conclusion I'm still experimenting.

The cream leaves my hair feeling very WAXY if I use too much. Rubbing it into my hands has a very waxy feel as well. I've had my jar since Black Friday of 2010 (only about 2 months) and the oils are already settling at the top and it has a curdled looking effect going on. Some of the ingredients are clumping together to form little chunks in the cream. They are easily rubbed out, but it doesn't feel appealing when I try to scoop a small bit out.

I am doing more experimenting tomorrow!
2bc3a
CG since December '09
loo-poo: Kiss My Face Everywhere Shampoo
cowash: Suave Naturals, CJ DF
rinse out: TN
leave-in: CJHBLI, CJSL, SMRC
stylers: (rotating) CJAF, CCCC, SMCS, Ecostyler, KMFUM
DT: CJCR
PT:CJRM

love oils, avocado and castor oil are my favorite


Iherb discount code TSW857
I like the cream gel. As the above poster said it doesn't have much hold so I have to pair it with a curl enhancer but the results I get are nice. I recieved 2 compliments today on my wash and go. I have plans to buy this again.
4a/b Texlaxed hair w/ highlights. Medium texture & high porosity.

HG's: CJ Daily Fix, Bobeam Cheris Hibiscus shampoo bar, KC Spiral Spritz, Knot Today, CJ Rehab, KBB LL Hair Mask, Cassia, KCCC, oil blend of Avocado, Camellia, Jojoba, & Meadowfoam oils

SL APL BSL MBL
I don't really like the Styling Cream, I reviewed on my blog. Since the review, I also tried it on dry twists and it was better, but I prefer other products.

Stuff I Really Wanted to Like: Darcy’s Botanicals Curl Styling Cream « My Quest for the Perfect Curl
BC'ed: 26 Dec 09
YouTube

Grand Duchess Fierce Freckles, Mistress of the Mighty Snap and Doyenne of the Potent Products Pavane in the Order of the Curly Crusaders
and I really like it! I used it on top of the Peach Kernel Hydrating Hair Milk and got nice plump, shiny curls. The product has a thin consistency of a gelly with lots of slip which makes it easy to smooth onto the hair. It controlled my frizz pretty well and dried with a "just right" level 3 hold (didn't change my shrinkage level though).

The dew was 3 today and it held up wonderfully. I haven't tried the cream yet, but we'll see...

One point for team DB.

ETA: Easy day 2 hair. No frizz. Excellent bed head!
Type: 3c with some 4a highlighted
Low porosity thick/coarse texture. nml elasticity
Routine: No rules, just happy hair

Cleanse: CJDF, Prell, LUSH Curly Wurly, Bobeam
LI/RO:BBB, CJ, SheaM, HEHIS, Garnier, KBN Shealoe, CD Chocolat, Oyin HH
Styling: CJ, CR, UFD, Zuresh, Ecostyler,MJ
PT/DT: BBB, CJ, Lather, MJSSB

HUGE PJJJJJJJJ!!!!

]
Facebook|Twitter

Last edited by Naturalista; 03-02-2011 at 10:08 AM.
I like the Curl Cream a lot. I used it with the Shea Butter Curl Moisturizing Cream, the picture in my siggy is when I tried it out
I got both on the black friday sale as well.

The gel gives you a soft hold but not a lot of shine. I felt like by twist out was still a bit frizzy. I do like it for bunning though because it lays your hair down nicely but you do not have the hard crunch look. When I take my bun down at night my hair does not feel stiff.

I 100% agree with romigjam on the curl cream. To much leaves my hair with this weird film but not waxy more greasy. The oils have also started to separate in my jar. To compensate I mixed in a bit of activator gel, aloe vera gel, wheat germ oil and MSM. It works great now!
Hair Type: 3c/4a/4b, fine, normal porosity

http://public.fotki.com/Ajnamhuja/

Last edited by ajna; 03-09-2011 at 12:00 AM.
I've tried the Curl Styling (leave-in) Cream and really liked it; I did use it as a LI and not a styler. It was comparable to the MD Curly Styling Cream that I love as LI.

I haven't used the Curling Cream Gel yet, but it is on my list of 'to be ordered' items
Type: 3a fine & dense,with normal porosity, terrible product junkie
ROUTINE: LI, enhancer, gel, plop with Curlease towel, serum product (either CIAB or Gel-les'c), clip & diffuse.
Too many favourite products to list ... I finally have my routine that works and alot of products to choose from. My product stash is huge, but well loved !!!
Smasters just posted a picture on her blog of her hair with the DB curling cream gel in it - and nothing else. It looks really nice! Check it out: How's My Hair?
hair type: 2B/3A
low poo: Elucence moisture; Elucence clarifying (after swimming)
condish: CJ smoothing; CJ argan; CJ repair me; CJ curl rehab; CJ strengthening (summer only)
winter/spring styling: CJ Beauticurls leave-in + Curly Kinks coil jam + Ouidad mongongo oil; or CJ leave-in + SpiralSolutions CEJ & FHG
summer/fall styling: CJ CCCC lite + CJ Curl Queen
http://members.fotki.com/melaniesusan/ pw = 3ahair
Smasters just posted a picture on her blog of her hair with the DB curling cream gel in it - and nothing else. It looks really nice! Check it out: How's My Hair?
Originally Posted by melaniesusan
Her hair looks amazing! I'll have to pull mine out and try it this weekend. It's been quite a while and the weather finally seems to be changing.

Kerri

2?/3a ??? ; fine; high density; normal porosity and elasticity
color treated

CURRENTLY USING:
cleanse:Organix Vanilla Silk, Use Me Cleansing Cream
rinse out/li:Ion Effective Care, Tresseme Naturals Radiant Volume (both with NPF added)
stylers:Curl Keeper, UFD Curly Magic, & Alba Botanicals Strong Hold Gel
PT:CJ Repair Me

mod CG since August 2010
I have tried the curl styling leave in cream and i must say that i like it...it left my hair frizz free and gave me nice curl definition. But you cant use so much because it would leave your hair greasy and waxy so i totally agree with romigjam....
I used it with schwarzkopf got2b smooth and chic lotion, darsy's cream as first and it works pretty well together...
I've also tried Komaza coconut curl hair lotion but darcy's is much better and works better for my 3b curls. Komaza left my hair greasy so much so i guess its more suitable for 4 hair types.
and as somebody already wrote in here it doesnt have a hold so its good to use it with some styling product.
please excuse me for my english...im not from english speaking country so im sure that i made some mistakes...thanksss
Bump!
I'm loving the Cream Gel and Cleansing Conditioner
I notice that I do have to clarify with ACV once a week or so or my hair will get limp, but these two give me awesome ringlets. To make sure it wasn't just my technique or the weather, I switched products for a while and got OK but not great curls. Now I'm back to this, and I'm getting spirals!
2c/2b with some 2a, coarse, dense, thick, low porosity
Growing out a CL bob. Currently at APL.
CG again as of 7/20/12


Cleanser: BRÖÖ Smoothing I.P.A. Shampoo
RO: Trader Joe's Nourish Spa Conditioner
LI: Kinky-Curly Knot Today
Styler: Beautiful Curls Gel for Wavy to Curly Hair

all-natural products, light moisture, humectants, argan oil
silk protein, synthetic ingredients, heavy oils/products, cowashing

Trending Topics


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 NaturallyCurly.com