AG:Recoil hair pics!

Like Tree11Likes

Hi ladies,

So I've had a lot of trouble with CURL ENHANCEMENT and also, CURL HOLD until I found AG:Recoil. I had some serious curls from this stuff, and they lasted all day. Then I had 2nd day hair that I did nothing to, just pulled the hair out of pineapple and I just had to share

I did read it can be drying, can anyone tell me what I might try to switch off and on with? Curl Keeper? Thoughts? Thanks for any advice Both of these thumbnails are from second day hair!
Attached Thumbnails
AG:Recoil hair pics!-img_0710.jpg   AG:Recoil hair pics!-img_0720.jpg  
CG since Oct. 5, 2011
http://public.fotki.com/curlystephie/
Had two Brazillian Blowouts (last one on 6/30/11)
Curly all of my life but I don't know if I"m a 3a or 3b or both?
I love plopping.
CJ CIAB is a HG for me
Trying out CJ conditioners.
Make my own FSG using honey, fote, and mag oil.
Deva Curl "No Poo" "One Conditioner" "Heaven In Hair" "Bleaven" "AnGel" and "Set up and above"
Need more CURL ENHANCEMENT and HOLD and FRIZZ CONTROL!
1 1/2 years after using it routinely and well, it's still an HG product for me. It makes my thinning hair look thicker and I can get several days of nice clumpy action. It's a wonderful product for me as long as I use a good LI condish under as I find it a bit drying.

Love it. And glad it loves ya. You and your curls are absolutely stunning. What a punim on ya!

i refresh with CJ Smoothing Lotion to keep moisturized. I alternate with SS CEJ, as I find that not at all drying, but rather, moisturizing.

I used it for Thanksgiving and got my plumpy curls. I still haven't washed again...hah. It's, um, going on 6th day hair (and I will wash today, Tuesday, after I sleep.)
CurlyStephie likes this.
3a3b dry, dyed --newly "banged"
Natural since 11/25/09 (Miami)

Shine & Spring w/ Sweet Curls Elixirs!
Curl Junkie Conditions!
Re:coil ROCKS!

~CJ Protein Tx
; BEE-U-Ti-Ful Deep Condish
~S&C; SMasters Method; Pixie-curling
Dumping clumps for VOLUME!
http://public.fotki.com/MirCurls/


Marchioness Mir, Magister of Moisturization & Mystic of the Lofty Crown in the Order of the Curly Crusaders

Last edited by MirCurls; 11-28-2011 at 11:30 PM.
You and your hair are gorgeous!

I can use AG a couple times a week without suffering any drying issues. I wish I could get second day hair out of it, but it makes my hair look producty the next day.
CurlyStephie likes this.
3a with some 2c thrown in
http://public.fotki.com/CurlyHairedFarmer/
pw: cow

Currently Loving:
Shampoo: CJ Gentle Cleansing Shampoo, Giovanni 50:50

Conditioners - CJ Strengthening, CJ Beauticurls Argan and Olive Oil, CJ Smoothing, CJ Rehab, CJ Curl Fix

Leave-in: CJ Beauticurls Leave-in

Deep Conditioner: CJ Hibiscus and Banana Deep Fix

Stylers -CJ Curl Queen, CJ CCCC Lite, CJ CIAB, CJ Pattern Pusha, Paul Mitchell Sculpting Foam, Mop-C Curl Defining Cream, BRHG, KCCC
1 1/2 years after using it routinely and well, it's still an HG product for me. It makes my thinning hair look thicker and I can get several days of nice clumpy action. It's a wonderful product for me as long as I use a good LI condish under as I find it a bit drying.

Love it. And glad it loves ya. You and your curls are absolutely stunning. What a punim on ya!

i refresh with CJ Smoothing Lotion to keep moisturized. I alternate with SS CEJ, as I find that not at all drying, but rather, moisturizing.

I used it for Thanksgiving and got my plumpy curls. I still haven't washed again...hah. It's, um, going on 6th day hair (and I will wash today, Tuesday, after I sleep.)
Originally Posted by MirCurls
THanks so much for the sweet words! I wondered, when you said you "refresh" with CJ SMoothing Lotion do you mean 2nd day hair, or, as an alternative to the AG:Recoil? Same question about the SS CEJ? I'm thinking those are your alternatives -- to avoid the drying effects of the ReCoil?

Sorry for all of the questions but I'm SO excited to FINALLY have defined curls and good hold and 2nd day hair! Thanks again!
aislin likes this.
CG since Oct. 5, 2011
http://public.fotki.com/curlystephie/
Had two Brazillian Blowouts (last one on 6/30/11)
Curly all of my life but I don't know if I"m a 3a or 3b or both?
I love plopping.
CJ CIAB is a HG for me
Trying out CJ conditioners.
Make my own FSG using honey, fote, and mag oil.
Deva Curl "No Poo" "One Conditioner" "Heaven In Hair" "Bleaven" "AnGel" and "Set up and above"
Need more CURL ENHANCEMENT and HOLD and FRIZZ CONTROL!
You and your hair are gorgeous!

I can use AG a couple times a week without suffering any drying issues. I wish I could get second day hair out of it, but it makes my hair look producty the next day.
Originally Posted by CurlyHairedFarmer

You gals sure know how to make a girl feel good Thanks for the kind words. Have you found anything else out there that works for you as well as the AG:Recoil? It would be nice to have a similar product to rotate with. I have a feeling it's the Mag Sulfate that is giving me those great curls and that great hold -- and that is the drying part!

I do put Mag Oil (I got it from KathyMac :-) in my FSG, but it's not near enough hold. Perhaps I will try adding more to my recipe on the days I don't use ReCoil.

Thanks again!
CG since Oct. 5, 2011
http://public.fotki.com/curlystephie/
Had two Brazillian Blowouts (last one on 6/30/11)
Curly all of my life but I don't know if I"m a 3a or 3b or both?
I love plopping.
CJ CIAB is a HG for me
Trying out CJ conditioners.
Make my own FSG using honey, fote, and mag oil.
Deva Curl "No Poo" "One Conditioner" "Heaven In Hair" "Bleaven" "AnGel" and "Set up and above"
Need more CURL ENHANCEMENT and HOLD and FRIZZ CONTROL!
I've been debating on getting this product, so thanks for the positive feedback. I also need curl enhancement, so that makes me want to get it all the more when you had such great results. I LOVE your hair. I know that 2nd day hair is really never possible for me (at least not yet...I have Medusa hair every morning - ha). Thanks for sharing your review.
2b/3a fine/med-hi density/high porosity (I think)/ highlight-no silicones/sulfates
Lo-poo - ABBA Gentle Shampoo/ Shea Moisture Curl & Shine
Conditioner: GVCB (love it!)/ Regis OO
Leave in
: As I Am
Co-Wash: Tresemme or DevaCurl NoPoo
Stylers: As I Am Curling Jelly/GF Pure Clean/ LALCurl gel - all with BRHG added
Style: scrunch/ diffuse, then air dry. I don't Have much frizz at all
1 1/2 years after using it routinely and well, it's still an HG product for me. It makes my thinning hair look thicker and I can get several days of nice clumpy action. It's a wonderful product for me as long as I use a good LI condish under as I find it a bit drying.

Love it. And glad it loves ya. You and your curls are absolutely stunning. What a punim on ya!

i refresh with CJ Smoothing Lotion to keep moisturized. I alternate with SS CEJ, as I find that not at all drying, but rather, moisturizing.

I used it for Thanksgiving and got my plumpy curls. I still haven't washed again...hah. It's, um, going on 6th day hair (and I will wash today, Tuesday, after I sleep.)
Originally Posted by MirCurls
THanks so much for the sweet words! I wondered, when you said you "refresh" with CJ SMoothing Lotion do you mean 2nd day hair, or, as an alternative to the AG:Recoil? Same question about the SS CEJ? I'm thinking those are your alternatives -- to avoid the drying effects of the ReCoil?

Sorry for all of the questions but I'm SO excited to FINALLY have defined curls and good hold and 2nd day hair! Thanks again!
Originally Posted by CurlyStephie

When I say I REFRESH with CJ Smoothing Lotion, I mean I use it to moisturize and smooth down 2nd, 3rd, 4th day hair.

When I say I alternate, I mean on days I do NOT use Recoil. I use SS CEJ more often (less drying). But for days I absolutely, positively must have nice curls and clumps and need it to hold up (like parties), I do Re:coil and Curl Queen, a combo that really works, even in Miami humidity for me.

I know I did a thread here (earlier this year or late last year, I forget) with pics of me after doing my Pilates session with like fifth day hair and it looked great. hahah. I do believe it was CEJ and Smoothing that got that for me. I get a lot of hair days from Re:coil and from SS CEJ...both....pretty reliable for me.

I routinely get second day hair (like today, with SS CEJ and I slept on it without a scrunchie). I guess that's why I keep using these.

Holy cow, just realized I missed my 2 year natural curly anniversary....November 25. Black Friday. HAH.
CurlyStephie likes this.
3a3b dry, dyed --newly "banged"
Natural since 11/25/09 (Miami)

Shine & Spring w/ Sweet Curls Elixirs!
Curl Junkie Conditions!
Re:coil ROCKS!

~CJ Protein Tx
; BEE-U-Ti-Ful Deep Condish
~S&C; SMasters Method; Pixie-curling
Dumping clumps for VOLUME!
http://public.fotki.com/MirCurls/


Marchioness Mir, Magister of Moisturization & Mystic of the Lofty Crown in the Order of the Curly Crusaders

Last edited by MirCurls; 11-29-2011 at 11:28 PM.
Mir Curls -- first of all Happy Anniversary!!!

Second of all -- thanks for the clarification. I am going to try she SS CEJ. I find the CJ Smoothing Lotion to soften my curl pattern too much unfortunately. But I do love some CIAB!

Being new to CG, it's overwhelming at times. I wish someone could just say -- here, use this. I did purchase a Hair Wizard Analysis, and am going to be sending that in soon. It will be interesting to see what info I get back.

I can't wait until I'm celebrating my 1 year NC.COM anniversary! Thanks again for the response!
MirCurls likes this.
CG since Oct. 5, 2011
http://public.fotki.com/curlystephie/
Had two Brazillian Blowouts (last one on 6/30/11)
Curly all of my life but I don't know if I"m a 3a or 3b or both?
I love plopping.
CJ CIAB is a HG for me
Trying out CJ conditioners.
Make my own FSG using honey, fote, and mag oil.
Deva Curl "No Poo" "One Conditioner" "Heaven In Hair" "Bleaven" "AnGel" and "Set up and above"
Need more CURL ENHANCEMENT and HOLD and FRIZZ CONTROL!
I purchased a wizard analysis last year...yeah, like a year or more ago...and never sent hair in. This is because I am a procrastinating idiot. No other explanation. HAH.

I wonder if they'll still take it?

I only did it for curiosity sake. I don't plan on changing my regimen.

I did notice that my hair has changed. It's all almost grown out from the damage now, in two years (12 inches of hair, roughly), and it's much less fine and hardly as porous as it was when I began my journey after years of blow-drying harshly. Granted, I also radically changed my diet....and lost 80 pounds since I went natural....(121 pounds total so far)....and all that protein and clean eating has to help. I had a lot of scalp showthrough and hair is thicker now.

It's fascinating to see how it is versus how it was. It doesn't soak in shower water immediately and hold it soppingly like it used to; it's not as thin; and it stands out a lot thicker-strandwise when I put it against a white tile; it's less frizzy. Just better all around. Good hair care shows after a year or two. New hair is nice!
CurlyStephie likes this.
3a3b dry, dyed --newly "banged"
Natural since 11/25/09 (Miami)

Shine & Spring w/ Sweet Curls Elixirs!
Curl Junkie Conditions!
Re:coil ROCKS!

~CJ Protein Tx
; BEE-U-Ti-Ful Deep Condish
~S&C; SMasters Method; Pixie-curling
Dumping clumps for VOLUME!
http://public.fotki.com/MirCurls/


Marchioness Mir, Magister of Moisturization & Mystic of the Lofty Crown in the Order of the Curly Crusaders

Last edited by MirCurls; 12-01-2011 at 06:05 PM.
Mircurls what did you change in your diet to loose the weight and help your hair?

Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
Mircurls what did you change in your diet to loose the weight and help your hair?

Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
Originally Posted by curlybran
I'll answer, but sorry for hijacking the thread, ladies!

Well, I lost weight cause I:

1. exercised
2. cut calories back, first to 2000 , then 1800, then 1700, etc, until I got to 1200 January of this year.
3. made a definite commitment and began blogging to be accountable
4. did weight loss challenges online with online blogging buddies to stay focused (that was my support structure.
5. got family behind me (no birthday cake, no crap offered to me, healthful side dishes for family meals as options).
6. I drink A LOT of fluids. I used to hate drinking water, so I got in the habit. I try to get at least 10 glasses of fluid a day now at my smaller weight. I started with 17 glasses of fluid when I was really huge...cause, well, I was really huge and needed more fluid. I DRINK 2 or 3 glasses of water before I eat one bite of food. At home, in restaurants, period. Water to start filling me up. This strategy is key for me.
7. I read online menus of restaurants before I go out, only go to places with healthful (ie, not rejiggered weird-butt food like places such as Chili's or Taco Bell sell), and I choose what I can eat before I go, so I am ready and don't have to spend time ogling menus there, when I'm hungry. I know local places with fresh food, ideally organic, ideally local. And I know places that may have regular food, and I ask the chef how they prepare it. I become a regular ONLY if a restaurant has stuff that I can eat. I don't go to places with trigger foods.
8. No sugar except the occasional dark chocolate. No High Fructose Corn Syrup. No high sugars foods other than fruit.


I'm eating about 1500 cals average (some days more, some less) now in a maintenance/refeed before I tackle the last 20 pounds.

I eat kinda Primarian, which is an offshoot of Paleo/Primal. My meals center around quality protein (eggs, chicken, steak, pork--I'm allergic to seafood, so, sadly, none). I gave up gluten and only eat one starch serving a day some days (ie, potato, sweet potato, rice). I do better without starch, but I just like it.

I do have some dairy (gave up milk, and my skin cleared up..looks good). I drink green tea, water, coffee.

I joined an organic coop and get fresh organic and local fruits and veggies weekly. Whole Foods gets a lot of my income, I can tell you. I buy pasteured, organic eggs. I try to minimize toxins.

I do Pilates and I walk (well, a break from walking while sprained ankle heals). I dance--put on music and just go happy-wild. I swam this summer.

I eat a lot of protein--at least 80 to 100 grams a day. I don't have kidney disease or issues, so high protein intake is not a problem. This helps spare some muscle loss. Weight loss in the obese tends to mean a lot of muscle loss. I built up muscle first--exercised 2 years before I got a lot of weight off. I was prediabetic, and my glucose is totally normal now. I got off blood pressure drugs, and averted diabetes drugs. My hair got better, my skin got better, and my energy went zooming.

I have hypothyroidism (which did thin my hair, too, dries it out) and it's hard for me to lose weight, but I was patient. Hey, 1/2 a pound to 2 pounds a week adds up in 1 1/2 years. I committed to losing it in2 years, and that will be September 2012. I'm pretty darn sure I'll make goal by next summer or sooner. Working on it.

I also have a reward structure: If I lose it and keep it off for at least 2 years, I get a trip to Italy. Now, that's a reward, right?

I strongly recommend these books--I was a binge eater, and once I got rid of trigger foods like lasagna, pizza, pasta, noodles, bread, etc, I no longer had any weird bingeing urges and my appetite decreased--

THE END OF OVEREATING--cause it talks about what makes us overeat and gives a "rehab" program. This was my NUMBER one help...gave me an epiphany last year. After trying vegan, vegetarian, diet-to-go delivery, Weight Watchers, Wonderslim, Atkins, South Beach, etc, this was what really got me thinking about my issues.

Also:

THE PALEO SOLUTION
THE NEW EVOLUTION DIET (when I applied his principles about exercising and intermittent fasting, I lost the MOST)
THE PRIMAL BLUEPRINT
REFUSE TO REGAIN (meant for maintainers, but this was the plan I pretty much followed from January on)


In January, THE SMARTER SCIENCE OF SLIM comes out, and I've been trying some of the stuff I read in the advanced reader copy in order to reset my metabolism. (Dieting effs up the metabolism, it just does, and no way around it now for me but to try to heal.) So, I do even MORE protein and he recommends no starch at all...which is tough...but we'll see.

For me, going organic, lotsa protein, mostly veggies/protein/fruit for dessert was what made me calm appetite wise. I think it was the extra protein plus the nutrients in the veggies/fruit that helped my hair. And skin.

I also finally was able to ditch the steroids for my asthma after 22 years. Am breathing fine. Gluten sucks for asthmatics/autoimmune sufferers like me. It's really bad for us.

Anyway, that's me. I figure anything that improves health, probably improves hair. Right?

I edited to attach pics of me at my highest weight (299 lbs), then the weight at which I started working out with Pilates trainenr (278, in my workout clothes), then me now at 178 lbs (fitting into a dress I bought for Christmas that didn't fit in September, heh). I had dirty hair as I was in the tail end of a blow-out after a hair treatment--like 7th day hair! My curls reasserted in every place but the top. hah. The last is Thanksgiving, where I got to wear a large regular size dress from Macy's (that was fun!) Hair is more abundant. Curly there from the root on, no blow-out .

Hope that helps...
Attached Thumbnails
AG:Recoil hair pics!-highest-weight-june-2004-299-lbs-blog.jpg   AG:Recoil hair pics!-miryardangled2009jan30prepilatesnmb.jpg   AG:Recoil hair pics!-178-lbs-yard-nov-12-2011-flirty.jpg   AG:Recoil hair pics!-cdcc-dress-fits-nov-19-2011-snugly-006.jpg   AG:Recoil hair pics!-charles-mir-thanksgiving-2011.jpg  

jerrY, SegB and CurlyStephie like this.
3a3b dry, dyed --newly "banged"
Natural since 11/25/09 (Miami)

Shine & Spring w/ Sweet Curls Elixirs!
Curl Junkie Conditions!
Re:coil ROCKS!

~CJ Protein Tx
; BEE-U-Ti-Ful Deep Condish
~S&C; SMasters Method; Pixie-curling
Dumping clumps for VOLUME!
http://public.fotki.com/MirCurls/


Marchioness Mir, Magister of Moisturization & Mystic of the Lofty Crown in the Order of the Curly Crusaders

Last edited by MirCurls; 12-01-2011 at 07:58 PM.
Sorry it won't let me send u a private message

That is amazing!!!!! Thank you for the info!!!! I have hypothyroidism and insulin resistance. My highest was 260 about 2 years ago. June 2010 (230#) I joined a workout thing with my school and got down to about 200 but then school and work started back and I couldn't go. Got back to about 210 beginning of the year and had been going back and gforth. In Sept my doc put me on phentermine and I have gotten down to 177 with 1200 cal diet and up until 2 weeks ago doing a mile jog/walk/run atleast 3 times a week. What are the blogs you are using?

Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
MirCurls,

Okay that is SO inspiring!!! Your pictures blow me away --- you look amazing and you have some seriously gorgeous legs, girl!

Having lost all of the weight, what an amazing accomplishment. How dedicated you sound. I have lost weight on the "eat clean" diet Tosca Reno wrote. I also read a book about Metabolic Syndrome and took HFCS completely out of my (and my family's) diet and get mostly organic food now.

I find that when I cut out sugar, I feel and look so much better. It's weird because when I eat sugar, I WANT sugar. When I give it up, I really don't miss it. I think it's great that you tell your family not to bring that stuff around, even for birthdays! I had lost 10 pounds recently and on my Birthday my husband and I went away. He brought all kinds of my favs (almond roca, etc) and I have been off track since. SO frustrating. Do you find you miss the sugar now? How long ago did you (mostly) give it up? Do you also watch hidden sugar (like in salad dressing and such)?

The amazing thing is how different your HAIR looks!!! Thanks so much for all of that great info and super inspiring pictures. It sounds like your family is very supportive, which is huge I think! Congrats to you, you look fantastic!!!

One question -- is it still a struggle? Do you wrestle with cravings or ever feeling "left out" or "deprived?" Is it hard for you at the holidays? I marvel at people who say it's "become a way of life and I don't even miss it" when they were once fast food junkies or sugar addicts.

Just want to tell you you are totally inspiring me!
CG since Oct. 5, 2011
http://public.fotki.com/curlystephie/
Had two Brazillian Blowouts (last one on 6/30/11)
Curly all of my life but I don't know if I"m a 3a or 3b or both?
I love plopping.
CJ CIAB is a HG for me
Trying out CJ conditioners.
Make my own FSG using honey, fote, and mag oil.
Deva Curl "No Poo" "One Conditioner" "Heaven In Hair" "Bleaven" "AnGel" and "Set up and above"
Need more CURL ENHANCEMENT and HOLD and FRIZZ CONTROL!
Sorry it won't let me send u a private message

That is amazing!!!!! Thank you for the info!!!! I have hypothyroidism and insulin resistance. My highest was 260 about 2 years ago. June 2010 (230#) I joined a workout thing with my school and got down to about 200 but then school and work started back and I couldn't go. Got back to about 210 beginning of the year and had been going back and gforth. In Sept my doc put me on phentermine and I have gotten down to 177 with 1200 cal diet and up until 2 weeks ago doing a mile jog/walk/run atleast 3 times a week. What are the blogs you are using?

Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
Originally Posted by curlybran
CurlyBran,

Did you find that the working out and weight loss helped the hypothyroidism or did you do other natural things to help it? Or did your dr. put you on thyroid meds? I hope you don't mind my asking. I have low thyroid and I have the meds at home but have not starting taking them yet. I was considering some alternative and natural solutions, but, I'm not sure I have the patience! lol! I have fatigue, and it is really hard to lose weight even though I exercise a lot.

I feel like I just need to get off the fence and make a decision. I was told that once you go on the thyroid meds, you can never go off. I don't know if that is true. I bet it's effecting my hair as well. I'd like to get it dealt with before I hit peri-menopause. I'm sure that will just make it all harder! Thanks in advance!
CG since Oct. 5, 2011
http://public.fotki.com/curlystephie/
Had two Brazillian Blowouts (last one on 6/30/11)
Curly all of my life but I don't know if I"m a 3a or 3b or both?
I love plopping.
CJ CIAB is a HG for me
Trying out CJ conditioners.
Make my own FSG using honey, fote, and mag oil.
Deva Curl "No Poo" "One Conditioner" "Heaven In Hair" "Bleaven" "AnGel" and "Set up and above"
Need more CURL ENHANCEMENT and HOLD and FRIZZ CONTROL!
Yea I think it helped a lot! Before I got on the medicine all I could do was sleep it seemed like. My mom kept a chart 1 week whenvi was home. I slept on average 18 hours a day. And that's because I was home and they were making me go places and do things I couldn't sit down without falling asleep. But within the 1st 6 months I was completely different. If it wasn't for the meds I wouldn't have been able to do any of the working out. I still get really dizzy from time to time esp bending down and coming back up but I think that's mire bc I don't eat enough.

Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
My doctor said I can come off whenever my levels even out

Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
When I eat clean and gluten free in the moderate carb range (80 to 120 carbs), I get no cravings. When I get higher in carbs...cause I planned badly or got lazy, then the appetite comes back. So, I try to keep it in there and stay even. I haven't had my former fave pizza in almost a year. I find that feeling good is worth more than pizza...

And thanks. My legs are courtesy of Pilates. I never had nice legs before, not even in my 20's. They were kinda stick-like. The muscle gives them shape. My poochy tummy (I skew apple shape) is dna-wired. I had it when i was normal weight at age 15...skinny arms, legs, wide hips, poochy belly..how I am.

At nearly 52, I'm really late trying to fix these issues, but better late than never.

As far as my thyroid--I'll never have normal thyroid function. My thyroid is a lot of scar tissue, cause with Hashimoto's the immune system attacks it. It's not iodine deficiency, etc. It's just damaged. And while my dosage decreased as I leaned out, I will always have to take it. always. Barring, like, some miracle of God.

I was sleeping 21 hours a day before they put me on it in 1997. Felt horrible for years prior, but went undiagnosed. I think the old stigma of 'all fat women think they have thyroid problems" was part--I refused to go there not wanting to be a stereotype and my doctor probably just assumed it was my other issues making me tired/sick.

So, I do tell women if their hair is thinning, if they're gainign weight, if they feel lethargic, if they sleep too much, if their skin is drying (and hair)...to get a thyroid work-up. Yep.

Happy day all...
3a3b dry, dyed --newly "banged"
Natural since 11/25/09 (Miami)

Shine & Spring w/ Sweet Curls Elixirs!
Curl Junkie Conditions!
Re:coil ROCKS!

~CJ Protein Tx
; BEE-U-Ti-Ful Deep Condish
~S&C; SMasters Method; Pixie-curling
Dumping clumps for VOLUME!
http://public.fotki.com/MirCurls/


Marchioness Mir, Magister of Moisturization & Mystic of the Lofty Crown in the Order of the Curly Crusaders
I eat a lot of apples and oranges and I think that has helped my cravings bc I'm not as hungry to begin with

Sent from my PC36100 using CurlTalk App
Hi ladies,

So I've had a lot of trouble with CURL ENHANCEMENT and also, CURL HOLD until I found AG:Recoil. I had some serious curls from this stuff, and they lasted all day. Then I had 2nd day hair that I did nothing to, just pulled the hair out of pineapple and I just had to share

I did read it can be drying, can anyone tell me what I might try to switch off and on with? Curl Keeper? Thoughts? Thanks for any advice Both of these thumbnails are from second day hair!
Originally Posted by CurlyStephie
Your hair is gorgeous! AG re:coil has been a miracle product in my arsenal for years. I use it every time I do my hair; I find it gives my curls that extra oomph. I think it works really well with people with fine or medium hair because this kind of hair type seems to respond really well to magnesium (an ingredient in re:coil I believe) It can be drying if you have more medium/coarse hair. I have never had a problem with it.

Do you apply it to your hair before your curl gel or after? If you put it on afterwards it might protect your hair from dryness.

I use a great hair conditioner with fine hair. It's by Regis and it's called Olive Oil Shampoo. I use a lot of products with magnesium and it helps keep my hair healthy and soft, without weighing it down.
CurlyStephie likes this.



Beauty Blog :
www.MeghanDidIt.wordpress.com
Hi ladies,

So I've had a lot of trouble with CURL ENHANCEMENT and also, CURL HOLD until I found AG:Recoil. I had some serious curls from this stuff, and they lasted all day. Then I had 2nd day hair that I did nothing to, just pulled the hair out of pineapple and I just had to share

I did read it can be drying, can anyone tell me what I might try to switch off and on with? Curl Keeper? Thoughts? Thanks for any advice Both of these thumbnails are from second day hair!
Originally Posted by CurlyStephie
Your hair is gorgeous! AG re:coil has been a miracle product in my arsenal for years. I use it every time I do my hair; I find it gives my curls that extra oomph. I think it works really well with people with fine or medium hair because this kind of hair type seems to respond really well to magnesium (an ingredient in re:coil I believe) It can be drying if you have more medium/coarse hair. I have never had a problem with it.

Do you apply it to your hair before your curl gel or after? If you put it on afterwards it might protect your hair from dryness.

I use a great hair conditioner with fine hair. It's by Regis and it's called Olive Oil Shampoo. I use a lot of products with magnesium and it helps keep my hair healthy and soft, without weighing it down.
Originally Posted by CalamityM
Calamity I LOVE LOVE LOVE your hair!!! Oh so gorgeous!!! I do find the AG:Recoil a bit drying (my hair is course) and I also found that if I don't rotate it, it stops working well, which REALLY bums me out as I have found nothing that works as well as it does. So, I save it for special times when I need great hair.

I wish I knew what to try on the "non ag:recoil" days. I like CJ CIAB but it doesn't do for me what the AG Re:coil does. I also use Mag Oil in my homemade FSG -- I might try upping the amount in there as that doesn't seem to dry me. Have you used Mag Oil at all?

There was also a product by SS that uses Dead Sea Salt -- which I think is also Mag Sulfate. Maybe I'll try that. I really like the idea of using it OVER my gel, to help prevent dryness. I'm going to try that.

I just SO wish this wasn't so hard and at times a bit frustrating. When I did my BB, my hair looked predicable, and I could count on how it would look when it was straight. With curls it's such a crap shoot. I never know from day to day what type of curls I'm going to get.

Also, being new to CG, I don't know what to make of Winter Hair vs Summer Hair products. Sigh. Guess I'll have to do more research, lol.

Thanks again -- I'm going to try the gel first, then the re:coil!
CG since Oct. 5, 2011
http://public.fotki.com/curlystephie/
Had two Brazillian Blowouts (last one on 6/30/11)
Curly all of my life but I don't know if I"m a 3a or 3b or both?
I love plopping.
CJ CIAB is a HG for me
Trying out CJ conditioners.
Make my own FSG using honey, fote, and mag oil.
Deva Curl "No Poo" "One Conditioner" "Heaven In Hair" "Bleaven" "AnGel" and "Set up and above"
Need more CURL ENHANCEMENT and HOLD and FRIZZ CONTROL!

Trending Topics


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 NaturallyCurly.com