CurlTalk

CurlTalk (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/)
-   Readers' Product Reviews (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/readers-product-reviews/)
-   -   Bioterra gel - believe the hype! (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/readers-product-reviews/42424-bioterra-gel-believe-hype.html)

jworton 04-03-2008 11:20 AM

Bioterra gel - believe the hype!
 
This was recommended to me by a few curlies here - I was a little skeptical because I have NEVER been able to make a gel work w/ my hair, but wow!! I LOVE this stuff! I mixed it in w/ my regular routine (which has been totally failing me as of late because I am way overdue for a trim), so here's what I did:

-CK in shower after hand squeezing a bit of water out
-My own version of plopping w/ t-shirt for 5 min.
-Jessi Curl Confident Coils
-Tiny bit of Pantene curl scrunching mousse
-Bioterra gel
-Plop again for 10-15 min
-Un-plop and scrunched in a bit more Bioterra where I normally frizz

And voila! I have soft, piecy, bouncy curls and NO frizz! :toothy7:

shellynot 04-03-2008 11:27 AM

yay! i love this stuff too, its the best gel i've tried :)

Riot Crrl 04-03-2008 01:22 PM

Rock on! I like it too.

jworton 04-05-2008 02:50 PM

Update -

Going on 3 days of awesome hair - and it lasts ALL day. This just might be my HG...

:occasion9:

Brown_Eyed_Girl 04-05-2008 02:52 PM

Me too! And Biotera is 2 for $8 at Sally's right now.

myCelia 04-05-2008 03:38 PM

Wish it would have worked for me. I tried it once and it flattened my waves. :( It did leave my hair soft and frizz-free though. Of course, it was all I used so maybe I need to start experimenting with combining styling products.

Riot Crrl 04-05-2008 03:43 PM

MyCelia I see in your sig you don't like glycerin, it is less than halfway down the list in this.

I'm surprised about the flattening thing though. Did you try to air-dry with it? I only used it with diffusing, and seems to hold up whatever shape the diffuser tells it to.

myCelia 04-05-2008 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Riot Crrl (Post 542935)
MyCelia I see in your sig you don't like glycerin, it is less than halfway down the list in this.

I'm surprised about the flattening thing though. Did you try to air-dry with it? I only used it with diffusing, and seems to hold up whatever shape the diffuser tells it to.

Riot Crrl,

The Biotera styling gel was one of my early clues to start avoiding glycerine and the Biotera leave-in, to start avoiding proteins. :( The day I used the styling gel, I did air-dry so maybe that was a contributing factor. I pixie-diffuse now.

Riot Crrl 04-05-2008 04:17 PM

Are you in a humid or dry climate? Glycerin in my opinion is a very humidity-sensitive ingredient.

If you still have it lying around and you happen to get a day that's not too dry but not actually raining either, you might want to give it another try with diffusing.

myCelia 04-05-2008 04:47 PM

:lol: Yep, along with a dozen other products. Wish I could remember what the weather was like that day. In Northern Virginia, it's usually very humid late spring through summer. Thank goodness for the Frizz Forecast!

Kitara 04-06-2008 10:33 AM

Other than Sally's, do you know where else might you be able to buy this?

jillipoo 04-06-2008 10:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kitara (Post 543403)
Other than Sally's, do you know where else might you be able to buy this?

They have it here:
http://www.discountbeautycenter.com/...g-Gel-2814.htm

Kitara 04-06-2008 11:39 AM

Thanks!

Riot Crrl 04-06-2008 11:57 AM

I think I've seen it at Target.

Notinabottle 04-06-2008 12:08 PM

::delurking::

I always have this gel on hand, I don't use it alone though. My hair lacks moisture no matter what i do and it's thick so the gel alone almost has enough hold, but not quite. I mix it with L.A.looks durahold which thins that gel out and makes it easier to distribute. With that routine it's definately a HG for me.

jillipoo 04-07-2008 09:21 PM

I used this gel for the first time today and I am very impressed with it! I even put some photos in my Fotki of this good hair day!

curlygirlyme 04-07-2008 11:34 PM

Is there protein in the curl cream? I swear I didn't see any... maybe that's why my hair looks so crappy. Off to take another look :wave:

Curly Girl Fla 04-08-2008 05:21 AM

Wow-I used this gel a few times now-yes, I know it's not enough to establish consistency in performance-and I love it! But, what I like even better is using the Biotera Curl Cream underneath it today. I hope this keeps working, because this morning I got better results than when I used KKCK/KKKT combo and Mop-C Curl Cream. It's so darned much cheaper to boot. My hair is light and bouncy, very curly, but I think I may need more cream or additional leave-in since I like a heavier, more clumped look. Will the experimenting ever end???? Much thanks to jworton-this thread prompted me to purchase:blob7:

msgiblet 04-08-2008 10:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jillipoo (Post 544873)
I used this gel for the first time today and I am very impressed with it! I even put some photos in my Fotki of this good hair day!

Your hair looks wonderful!!

jillipoo 04-08-2008 11:12 AM

Aw, thank you, MsG! The photos aren't that good -- my hair actually looked better than in the pictures. This Biotera gel is defining my curls like nothing I've ever used before!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 NaturallyCurly.com